Divergent by Veronica Roth

Image

 

So I actually finished Divergent two days ago, but I’m posting my review today (so sue me, I’m a busy college girl with two jobs. :P)

Anyway, Divergent is Veronica Roth’s Debut novel and is also the start of a trilogy – don’t worry, I will be reading them. 🙂 – called The Divergent Trilogy. The book describes the story of a sixteen year old girl named Beatrice who lives in a dystopian type world where everyone has been split into five separate factions that correlate with their values. The factions are Abnegation (Selflessness), Dauntless (Bravery), Candor (Honesty), Amity (Friendship/Peacefulness), and Erudite (Knowledge). Every year, when the children of the factions are sixteen, they take a test telling them which faction they are best suited for. The next day they have the Choosing Ceremony where the children then choose which faction they will spend the rest of their lives in.

When Abnegation-born Beatrice takes her test, her results are inconclusive meaning she is one of a select few who are Divergent. These Divergent few are considered to be suited for more than one faction and are very powerful. In Beatrice’s case, she is suited for Abnegation, Dauntless, and Erudite. Of course, being Divergent is dangerous, so Beatrice is told to never tell anyone of what she is. Her result is published as Abnegation and she is sent home.

At the Choosing Ceremony, Beatrice makes her decision to leave her family and become Dauntless. She goes through a long and difficult initiation process making lots of friends and even more enemies throughout that time. She even finds a love interest in her mentor, Four. (Yes, that is his name. :P)

Besides going through initiation and building a romance, Beatrice – or Tris after she chooses Dauntless – is finding out about a plan that one of the other factions has to take over the city. As she’s learning about this, she is also learning many secrets about her Abnegation family and Dauntless friends that she had never considered before, and she learns even more about herself that helps her figure out who she is and what she needs to do.

The plot of Divergent is what really grabbed me. Usually, I’m a character kind of girl. I love the back stories and inside turmoil that surrounds characters. (And believe me, this has a BUNCH of that along with the great plot!) But the story is what got me this time. The thought of being split into groups based on personal beliefs and never being able to see your family again, is interesting to me.

Something I didn’t like was the immaturity of characters at times. During certain “love” scenes between Tris and Four I found myself rolling my eyes at the silliness of it, but this was not enough to deter me from reading this book. It really is great and it keeps you hanging on right until the end. ( And trust me, you’re gonna want to read the end. 😉 )

Leave a Reply

