THE FAULT IN OUR STARS by John Green

Image

THE FAULT IN OUR STARS tells the love story of Hazel and Augustus. Both, incredibly funny and intelligent, and both, diagnosed with fatal diseases at young ages. For Hazel, she’s lived with her lung issues for years, everyday knowing that it could be her last. Augustus; however, was diagnosed with osteosarcoma, but was classified as in remission after losing half a leg.

The duo meets at an illness support group that Hazel’s parents make her go to. The chemistry between them is undeniable and they soon start spending all of their time together and learning more about each other. This leads to Hazel having Augustus read her favorite book – An Imperial Affliction – which ends abruptly with the reader asking questions. Hazel desperately wants to meet the author and find her answers before it’s too late for her, so when Augustus offers her his “wish” from the Make-a-Wish Foundation, they go on their adventure to Amsterdam to meet Peter Van Houten, the author with all the answers…..or so they think.

After a less than productive meeting with Van Houten, Gus and Hazel spend some quality time growing closer in Amsterdam. This is when Hazel finds out that Gus’s osteosarcoma has come back. Once the pair is back home, Hazel spends the time she has left with Augustus showing him how/why his life has turned out exactly the way he’s wanted it to.

 

Never has a book made me laugh so hard to the point of tears and then cry just as hard, but from sadness. This was a good book. I read it in two days and when I wasn’t reading it, I was trying to figure out when I would get to read it again. I loved the characters, all of them – even Van Houten. I also really wish An Imperial Affliction was a real novel cus I wouldn’t mind reading it.

I was hesitant at first to read TFIOS because I had heard that it was so sad. But I am so glad I did. It has become one of my favorite books and I’m sure that if I were to reread it – no matter how many times – that I would still laugh and cry in all the spots I laughed and cried in before. That, to me, constitutes an amazing book. And who are we kidding, could John Green ever write a bad book? No. Probably not. 🙂

Leave a Reply

