Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

Now to be honest, it took me a few months to read this book. Not because it’s a bad book – in fact it’s a WONDERFUL book, I was just so busy!

In this book by Daniel Handler (a.k.a. Lemony Snicket!! A Series of Unfortunate Events, anyone??) Min is a 17 year old girl riding in a truck and writing a letter to her ex boyfriend explaining to him (yup, you guessed it) why they broke up. As she’s writing the letter, she’s adding special items from their relationship into a box that she plans to leave on his doorstep. Just a few of these many items include a cookbook, a trench coat, and about a million rose petals.

WHY WE BROKE UP is incredibly witty. I totally identified with Min’s dry sense of humor and her interests. I even kind of liked Ed up to a point. (Ed is the ex boyfriend) Throughout the book, I found myself kind of hoping they would work out, but by the end, I was so glad they did not. By the middle of the novel, there is a lot of foreshadowing about the incident that causes Min and Ed to break up, I’ll be honest, I saw it coming a mile away. But as they always say, “It’s not about the end of the journey, it’s how you get there.”

If you’re looking for a funny, sad, smart book that will help you get over a breakup/ex, this book is for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

